What is the capital of Assam? Full Details

Dispur is the capital of Assam. It was declared as the capital of Assam in 1973.

What is the capital of Assam?
What is the capital of Assam? 

History of Dispur

Earlier Shillong was the capital of Assam till 1972 then Shillong was carved out of Assam and became the capital of Meghalaya. Then in 1973 Dispur was declared as the capital of the state of Assam.

Dispur is famous for the Guwahati Tea Auction Centre. It is the largest Tea Auction Centre in Northeastern states of Assam. The Centre observed the largest volume of CTC tea in the world. 

Location of Dispur

Dispur is located under the locality of Guwahati. The Assam Trunk Road and the G.S road passes through the Dispur area.

Cultural centres like Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra and Basistha Ashram are situated in Dispur.

Political Centre

Dispur is a part of Guwahati Lok Shaba Constituency. Assam Secretariat Building, Assam Assembly House, State Emergency Operation Centre, MLA Hostels.

Post a Comment